Minutes of a meeting of the Licensing and Regulatory Committee held at the New Council Chamber - Town Hall, Reigate on Tuesday, 30 May 2023 at 7.30 pm.

Present: Councillors Z. Cooper (Chairman); J. Baker, Dwight, M. Elbourne, J. C. S. Essex, K. Fairhurst, J. Hudson, S. Sinden (Vice-Chair), C. Stevens and G. Hinton (Substitute)

Also present: Councillors Blacker, Kulka, Ritter, Thorne



Councillor Baker nominated and Councillor Fairhurst seconded Councillor Cooper as Chair of the Committee for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

Also Councillor Essex nominated and Councillor Elbourne seconded Councillor Sinden as Chair of the Committee for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

Following a vote, it was **RESOLVED** that Councillor Cooper be elected Chair of the Licensing and Regulatory Committee for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

2 Election of Vice-Chairman

Councillor Essex nominated and Councillor Elbourne seconded Councillor Sinden as Vice-Chair of the Committee for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

RESOLVED that Councillor Sinden be appointed as the Vice-Chair of the Licensing and Regulatory Committee for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

3 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Torra and Councillor Proudfoot.

Councillor Hinton was substitute for Councillor Harper.

4 Minutes

RESOLVED that the Minutes from the Licensing and Regulatory Committee on 1 June 2022 and the Minutes from the Licensing and Regulatory Sub-Committee on 18 January 2023 were approved.

5 Declarations of interest

There were no declarations of interest.



Licensing and Regulatory Committee, Tuesday, 30th May, 2023

6 Licensing and Regulatory Sub-Committee Chairmen

Committee Members nominated and agreed the appointment of five Chairs of the Sub-Committees for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

Members asked about the role of the Licensing and Regulatory Sub-Committees and the Chairs. Officers explained that they usually meet in the daytime as applicants are usually accompanied by their legal and other representatives. Meetings can be held in the evenings if needed.

Councillor Hudson nominated and Councillor Dwight seconded Councillor Baker as Chair of one of the Sub-Committees.

Councillor Essex nominated and Councillor Dwight seconded Councillor Sinden as Chair of one of the Sub-Committees.

Councillor Essex nominated and Councillor Sinden seconded Councillor Elbourne as Chair of one of the Sub-Committees.

Councillor Baker nominated and Councillor Fairhurst seconded Councillor Dwight as Chair of one of the Sub-Committees.

Councillor Essex nominated and Councillor Baker seconded Councillor Cooper as Chair of one of the Sub-Committees.

RESOLVED that Councillors Baker, Sinden, Elbourne, Dwight and Cooper be appointed to act of the Chairs of the Licensing and Regulatory Sub-Committee for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

The meeting finished at 7.44 pm